Childhood and Education

Current projects

éducation inde OFI

Dream India Network (DIN):

A House to Grow

The goal of the “Une Maison pour Grandir” project is to support homes for street children aged 5 to 12 in extremely vulnerable situations . Each foster home can accommodate up to eight children and often children from two homes live together. This reduced number makes it possible to create a family environment which provides each young person with the attention necessary for personalized support. In addition, the small number of children makes it easier to set up a variety of activities.

The program also gives children access to quality education and medical monitoring. Children thus develop capacities which will enable them to emerge sustainably from poverty.

OFI has been working with DIN on this project since it was set up in 2013. 55 houses have since emerged and welcome a total of 550 children. OFI supports seven.

OFI: Support education

with Vonisha / SEVAI / ABC / HUT

Education is a priority of the Indian government. The law requires that children can go to a school within 3 kilometers of their home.

With SEVAI, OFI finances:

  • the running costs of a school for the children of a slum and two teachers,

  • Montessori training for interactive pedagogy at Shanti school as well as extracurricular activities (sport and library).

With Vonisha, OFI finances:

  • Montessori teacher training,

  • tuition fees and monitoring of children from displaced families for their reintegration into the English-speaking school environment.

With ABC, OFI finances:

  • the construction of new classrooms in rural areas,

  • teachers' salaries.

With HUT, OFI finances:

  • higher education scholarships for children orphaned by AIDS.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

teachers éducation inde OFI
éducation inde OFI

For a quality education

at the Shanti School (ODD4)

With the help of our partner SEVAI and civic service volunteers, we have set up a series of activities at the Shanti School that are part of an integrated approach to quality education.

As part of the “Learning for Life” project, a library was renovated for kindergartens and primary school children. Adapted sports equipment has been purchased to set up fun activities led by a young person in civic service. A second volunteer launched an interactive method called “Hello English” to strengthen the English level of students and teachers.

Finally, the double project “Better learning at the Shanti School” introduces a more dynamic teaching method with the Montessori method.

Some past achievements

Building Blocks / DNF : Gardenia School

The Gardenia School is located in a disadvantaged area of Bangalore to accommodate young children from the slums aged 3 to 5 years. The school offers a modern and interactive educational program, and has many facilities to educate children and provide them with a stimulating environment.

 

Gardenia School is supported by OFI with great help from Sunshine for a School and Alphabet Club. The school has welcomed nearly 70 children since 2017.

éducation inde OFI
sevai enfants handicapés éducation inde OFI

SEVAI : Disabled Children School

Since 2013, OFI has enabled the opening of 2 classrooms for disabled children in the Shanti school managed by SEVAI. 30 children, often with multiple disabilities, from 4 to 15 years old are welcomed there.

 

We were able to obtain funding from a Swiss foundation to build classrooms and adapted toilets. A vegetable garden and a medicinal herb garden are maintained by the children.

 

OFI pays the salaries of a teacher and an aide. OFI volunteers, medical students, come every year and ensure their well-being, adapting the equipment, chairs and tables ...

HUT : Meikandaar School

Meikandaar School is a school built in Trichy by HUT which accommodates nearly 750 students. The structure promotes the reception of kindergarten children in good conditions, learning through play and fun activities and allows children to learn English from an early age.

 

OFI has been working with HUT for several years to develop the school and has enabled the construction of a Learning Center, 14 classrooms as well as the renovation of many others! OFI contributes to quality education by financing the salaries of several teachers and offering them appropriate training.

éducation inde OFI
éducation inde OFI

HUT : house of hope

House of Hope is a reception structure based near Trichy which allows children affected by AIDS to access education, adapted health and medical care and psychological follow-up. The project makes it possible to ensure a future for these children and to integrate them durably into Indian society.

 

OFI built the buildings for 100 children and paid for the teachers and supervisors. Each year, OFI volunteers ensure a presence with the children. They participate in education, introduce children to hygiene, create a vegetable garden ...

BOSCO: A roof to grow

The BOSCO organization is recognized as an expert in welcoming and helping street children. In order to offer personalized assistance to young girls, the “Un toit pour grandir” program has created a temporary and permanent center that can accommodate 100 young permanent girls and 25 young girls in transit.

 

Inaugurated in September 2014, OFI supported the development of this permanent center which has become a real living space for these young girls aged 6 to 18, and 80% of whom are “Dalits” (ie from the “untouchable” caste) . The center provides health, psychological and educational support, and enables the personal development of its daughters.

éducation inde OFI

Enfance et Education

Projets en cours

éducation inde OFI

Dream India Network (DIN) :

Une Maison pour Grandir

Le projet « Une Maison pour Grandir » a pour objectif de soutenir des maisons d’accueil pour enfants des rues âgés de 5 à 12 ans en situation d’extrême vulnérabilité. Chaque maison d’accueil peut accueillir jusqu’à huit enfants et souvent les enfants de deux maisons cohabitent ensemble. Ce nombre réduit permet de créer un environnement familial qui assure à chaque jeune une attention nécessaire pour un accompagnement personnalisé. De plus, le nombre restreint d’enfants facilite la mise en place d’activités variées.

Le programme permet également aux enfants d’accéder à une éducation et un suivi médical de qualité. Les enfants développent ainsi des capacités qui leur permettront de sortir durablement de la pauvreté.

OFI travaille avec DIN sur ce projet depuis sa mise en place en 2013. 55 maisons ont depuis vu le jour et accueillent au total 550 enfants. OFI en soutient sept.

OFI: Soutenons l'éducation

avec Vonisha/SEVAI/ABC/HUT

L’éducation est une priorité du gouvernement Indien. La loi impose que les enfants puissent aller à une école à moins de 3 kilomètres de chez eux.

Avec SEVAI, OFI finance :

  • les frais de fonctionnement d'une école pour les enfants d'un bidonville et deux enseignants,

  • la formation Montessori pour une pédagogie interactive à Shanti school ainsi que les activités péri scolaires (sport et bibliothèque).

Avec Vonisha, OFI finance :

  • la formation Montessori des enseignants,

  • les frais de scolarité et suivi des enfants de familles déplacées pour leur réinsertion dans le milieu scolaire anglophone.

Avec ABC, OFI finance :

  • la construction de nouvelles salles de classe en zone rurale,

  • le salaire d'enseignants.

Avec HUT, OFI finance :

  • les bourses d'études supérieures pour des enfants orphelins du SIDA.

teachers éducation inde OFI
éducation inde OFI

Pour une éducation de qualité

à la Shanti School (ODD4)

Avec l’aide de notre partenaire SEVAI et de volontaires en service civique, nous avons mis en place une série d’activités à la Shanti School qui s’inscrivent dans une approche intégrée de l’éducation de qualité. 

Dans le cadre du projet « Learning for Life », une bibliothèque a été rénovée pour les maternelles et les enfants de primaire. Du matériel sportif adapté a été acheté pour mettre en place des activités ludiques animées par un jeune en service civique. Une deuxième volontaire a lancé une méthode interactive baptisée « Hello English » pour renforcer le niveau d’anglais des élèves et professeurs. 

Enfin, le double projet « Mieux apprendre à la Shanti School » introduit un mode d’enseignement plus dynamique avec la méthode Montessori. 

Quelques  réalisations passées

Building Blocks / DNF : Gardenia School

L’école Gardenia School est située dans une zone défavorisée de Bangalore pour accueillir les jeunes enfants des bidonvilles âgés de 3 à 5 ans. L’école propose un programme éducatif moderne et interactif, et dispose de nombreux équipements pour instruire les enfants et leur offrir un environnement stimulant.

 

Gardenia School est soutenue par OFI avec l’aide précieuse de Sunshine for a School et Alphabet Club. L’école accueille près de 70 enfants depuis 2017.

éducation inde OFI
sevai enfants handicapés éducation inde OFI

SEVAI : Disabled Children School

Depuis 2013, OFI a permis l’ouverture de 2 salles de classe destinées aux enfants handicapés au sein de l’école de Shanti gérée par SEVAI. 30 enfants, souvent polyhandicapés, de 4 à 15 ans y sont accueillis.

 

Nous avons pu obtenir les financements d’une fondation suisse pour construire des salles de classe et des toilettes adaptées. Un jardin potager et un jardin d’herbes médicinales sont entretenus par les enfants.

 

OFI prend en charge les salaires d’un enseignant et d’une aide. Les bénévoles OFI, étudiants en médecine, viennent chaque année et veillent à leur bien-être, à adapter les appareillages, les chaises et tables…

HUT : Meikandaar School

Meikandaar School est une école construite à Trichy par HUT qui accueille près de 750 élèves. La structure favorise l’accueil des enfants de maternelle dans de bonnes conditions, l’apprentissage par le jeu et les activités ludiques et permet aux enfants d’apprendre l’anglais dès leur plus jeune âge.

 

OFI travaille avec HUT depuis plusieurs années pour développer l’école et a permis la construction d’un Learning Center, de 14 salles de classe ainsi que la rénovation de nombreuses autres ! OFI contribue à un enseignement de qualité en finançant le salaire de plusieurs enseignants et en leur offrant des formations adaptées.

éducation inde OFI
éducation inde OFI

HUT : house of hope

House of Hope est une structure d’accueil basée près de Trichy qui permet aux enfants affectés par le sida d’accéder à l’éducation, à des soins sanitaires et médicaux adaptés et à un suivi psychologique. Le projet permet d’assurer un avenir à ces enfants et de les intégrer durablement à la société indienne.

 

OFI a construit les bâtiments pours 100 enfants et assuré la rémunération des enseignants et des encadrants. Chaque année, des bénévoles OFI assurent une présence auprès des enfants. Ils participent à l’enseignement, initient les enfants à l’hygiène, créent un jardin potager…

BOSCO : Un toit pour grandir

L’organisation BOSCO est reconnue comme expert pour l’accueil et l’aide d’enfants des rues. Afin d’offrir une aide personnalisée aux jeunes filles, le programme « Un toit pour grandir » a créé un centre à la fois transitoire et permanent qui permet d’accueillir 100 jeunes filles permanentes et 25 jeunes filles en transit.

 

Inauguré en septembre 2014, OFI a accompagné le développement de ce centre permanent qui est devenu un véritable lieu de vie pour ces jeunes filles âgées de 6 à 18 ans, et dont 80% sont «Dalits» (i.e. de la caste des « intouchables). Le centre assure une prise en charge sanitaire, psychologique et éducative, et permet le développement personnel de ces filles.

éducation inde OFI