WOMEN'S EMPOWERMENT

The situation of women in Tamil Nadu: where are we?

marchande de fleurs
marchande de fleurs

pliage tissus
pliage tissus

préparation terreau
préparation terreau

marchande de fleurs
marchande de fleurs

1/6

Still very conservative, Tamil society encounters social issues that negatively affect the daily lives of populations. Many taboos are still anchored, in particular the question of AIDS, the role of women in society, arranged marriages, incestuous relationships, illiteracy, etc. The status of women in Tamil society is defined in relation to men: they are only mothers, daughters or wives of. They have to take care of their entire family, taking care of all the household chores.

In terms of financial independence, women do not have the same opportunities as men. They are less educated, depend on the income of their husbands and are forced to lend them a hand in their agricultural activity, without deriving any social recognition. This lack of financial autonomy places them de facto in an extremely difficult situation if their husband abandons the family, dies or a conflict breaks out with the in-laws.

OFI's approach to promote women's empowerment

unnamed.jpg

It is impossible to change the mentalities of an entire society in a snap. This is why OFI and its partners in the field, in an effort to promote the social and economic role of women in Indian society, give women the necessary tools to access more resources through professional training. Women can thus acquire a certain autonomy vis-à-vis the husband and the household, which gives them a completely different social status. They can thus take part in the decisions of the household and assert themselves within their community.

Empower women economically to improve their social position in Tamil society.

To do this, OFI favors the creation and formation of self-help groups or Self Help Groups (SHG). 12,000 groups were thus created.

CURRENT PROJECTS

OFI-SEVAI: Women full of resources

Located on the east coast of Tamil Nadu, on the edge of the Indian Ocean, this project offers women in rural and isolated villages opportunities to emancipate themselves through two programs:

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

  • a professional training program in computer science, sewing and nursing aid. They allow young women to then follow professional internships, improve their employability in the labor market and they can emancipate themselves financially,

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

  • a training program for 100 Self Help Groups aimed at creating economic activity in the region. This involves bringing together 12 to 20 women living below the poverty line so that they have access to government microcredits at very low rates allowing them to launch an economic activity. As part of this program, many training courses are provided, both on the skills necessary to run an economic activity (accounting, management, vocational training, etc.) and on personal development (awareness of the role of women in society , hygiene and health, etc.).

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Thanks to this project, women acquire knowledge and skills enabling them to work and gain social recognition from this work. They can either start their own business thanks to SHGs or find a job.

OFI-SEVAI: A power for tomorrow

The objective of the project is to promote the empowerment of women by creating 100 new SHG groups in the Trichy region . It aims to provide marginalized women with the tools necessary for their social emancipation and economic independence. Through women, this project aims to promote food security through sustainable agriculture.

 

To support these programs, OFI is funding the renovation of four training centers.

Some past achievements

OFI- SEVAI

Benjamine Oberoi, vice-president of OFI and our local partner SEVAI, have encouraged the creation of more than 11,000 Self-Help Groups. 150,000 households were thus able to exceed the poverty line.

 

OFI has participated in the federation of more than 4,050 self-help groups (SHG) with SEVAI and GRAMIUM and in the financing of 68 professional training courses. In all, nearly 64,410 women were impacted by our projects.

What impact do our projects have on women?

65% of beneficiaries have succeeded in increasing and stabilizing their income.

 

Spending on education increased by 125%, food by 80% and health by 40%.

 

98% of SHG members now have a real impact on the social problems of the community allowing the reduction of alcoholism, the improvement of waste management and hygiene in the villages.

women empowerment inde

They were convinced by our actions in favor of women

 

OFI won the Raja Women Award 2018 in the “Education and Social Action” category

Since 2013, the Raja Women's Award has rewarded organizations in France and around the world for actions having a concrete and lasting impact for the benefit of women. The Raja Danièle-Marcovici foundation encourages their empowerment and the improvement of their living conditions. It supports projects in the fight against violence and the defense of women's rights, education and social action, training and professional integration, environmental protection and the fight against climate change.

 

OFI has been supporting projects for the empowerment and economic independence of rural women in Tamil Nadu for 15 years now. Benjamine Oberoi, vice-president of OFI and our local partner SEVAI, have encouraged the creation of more than 11,000 Self-Help Groups. 150,000 households were thus able to exceed the poverty line.

 

For this, the entire OFI team is honored and proud to have received this award from the Raja Danièle-Marcovici foundation. This award motivates us to continue our projects and expand our field of action.

 

This price is also yours. Without you, these projects would never have seen the light of day. Thank you for your support. Small steps can make all the difference and it's great to be able to take the right steps together!

 

Discover the video presenting the finalists in the “Education and Social Action” category of the Raja Women Award 2018

"EMPOWERMENT" DES FEMMES

La situation des femmes dans le Tamil Nadu : où en est-on ?

marchande de fleurs
marchande de fleurs

pliage tissus
pliage tissus

préparation terreau
préparation terreau

marchande de fleurs
marchande de fleurs

1/6

Encore très conservatrice, la société tamoule rencontre des problématiques sociales qui affectent négativement le quotidien des populations. De nombreux tabous sont encore ancrés, notamment la question du sida, le rôle de la femme dans la société, les mariages arrangés, les relations incestueuses, l’analphabétisme, etc. Le statut de la femme dans la société tamoule se définit par rapport aux hommes : elles ne sont que mères, filles ou femmes de. Elles doivent prendre en charge l’intégralité de leur famille, s’occupant de toutes les tâches ménagères.

En termes d’indépendance financière, les femmes n’ont pas les mêmes opportunités que les hommes. Elles sont moins éduquées, dépendent du revenu de leurs maris et sont contraintes de leur prêter main forte dans leur activité agricole, sans en tirer aucune reconnaissance sociale. Ce manque d’autonomie financière les place de facto dans une situation extrêmement difficile si leur mari abandonne la famille, décède ou qu’un conflit éclate avec la belle-famille.

L’approche d’OFI pour promouvoir l’ « empowerment » des femmes

unnamed.jpg

Il est impossible de changer les mentalités d’une société entière en un claquement de doigts. C’est pourquoi, OFI et ses partenaires sur le terrain, dans un souci de promouvoir le rôle social et économique de la femme dans la société indienne, donnent aux femmes les outils nécessaires pour accéder à plus de ressources grâce à une formation professionnelle. Les femmes peuvent ainsi acquérir une certaine autonomie vis-à-vis du mari et du foyer, ce qui leur confère un tout autre statut social. Elles peuvent ainsi prendre part aux décisions du foyer et s’affirmer au sein de leur communauté.

 

Donner un pouvoir économique aux femmes pour améliorer leur position sociale dans la société tamoule.

 

Pour ce faire, OFI privilégie est la création et formation de groupes d’entraide ou Self Help Groups (SHG). 12000 groupes ont ainsi été créés.

LES PROJETS EN COURS

OFI-SEVAI : Des femmes pleines de ressources

Situé sur la côte Est du Tamil Nadu, au bord de l’Océan Indien, ce projet offre aux femmes des villages ruraux et isolés des opportunités de s’émanciper à travers deux programmes :

  • un programme de formations professionnelles en informatique, en couture et d'aide soignante. Elles permettent aux jeunes femmes de suivre ensuite des stages professionnels, améliorent leur employabilité sur le marché du travail et elles peuvent s’émanciper financièrement,

  • un programme de formation de 100 groupes d’entraide de femmes (Self Help Groups) visant à créer de l’activité économique dans la région. Il s’agit de regrouper 12 à 20 femmes vivant sous le seuil de pauvreté afin qu’elles aient accès à des microcrédits gouvernementaux à taux très faible leur permettant de lancer une activité économique. Dans le cadre de ce programme, de nombreuses formations sont dispensées, à la fois sur des compétences nécessaires pour diriger une activité économique (comptabilité, management, formations professionnelles, etc) et sur le développement personnel (sensibilisation au rôle de la femme dans la société, à l’hygiène et à la santé, etc).

Grâce à ce projet, les femmes acquièrent des connaissances et compétences leur permettant de travailler et de tirer de ce travail une reconnaissance sociale. Elles peuvent soit lancer leur propre activité grâce aux SHG, soit trouver un emploi.

OFI-SEVAI : Un pouvoir pour demain

Le projet a pour objectif de favoriser l’empowerment des femmes par la création de 100 nouveaux groupes de SHG dans la région de Trichy. Il vise à fournir aux femmes  marginalisées les outils nécessaires à leur émancipation sociale et leur indépendance économique. Au travers des femmes, ce projet à pour objectif de promouvoir la sécurité alimentaire par une agriculture raisonnée.

 

Pour soutenir ces programmes, OFI finance la rénovation de quatre centres de formation.

Quelques réalisations passées

OFI- SEVAI

Benjamine Oberoi, vice-présidente d’OFI et notre partenaire local SEVAI, ont encouragé la création de plus de 11 000 Self-Help Groups (groupes d’entraide). 150 000 foyers ont pu ainsi dépasser le seuil de pauvreté.

 

OFI a participé à la fédération de plus de 4 050 groupes d’entraide (SHG) avec SEVAI et GRAMIUM et au financement de 68 formations professionnelles. Ce sont en tout près de 64 410 femmes que nos projets ont impactées.

Quels impacts ont nos projets sur les femmes?

65% des bénéficiaires ont réussi à augmenter et stabiliser leurs revenus.

 

Les dépenses dédiées à l’éducation ont augmenté de 125%, celles de nourriture de 80% et celles de santé de 40%.

 

98% des membres des SHG ont désormais un réel impact sur les problèmes sociaux de la communauté permettant la réduction de l’alcoolisme, l’amélioration de la gestion des déchets et de l’hygiène dans les villages.

women empowerment inde

Ils ont été convaincus par nos actions en faveur des femmes

 

OFI a remporté le Raja Women Award 2018 dans la catégorie « Education et Action Sociale »

Depuis 2013, le Raja Women’s Award récompense des organisations en France et dans le monde pour des actions ayant un impact concret et durable au bénéfice des femmes. La fondation Raja Danièle-Marcovici encourage leur autonomisation et l’amélioration de leurs conditions de vie. Elle soutient des projets dans la lutte contre les violences et la défense des droits des femmes, l’éducation et l’action sociale, la formation et l’insertion professionnelle, la protection de l’environnement et la lutte contre les changements climatiques.

 

Cela fait maintenant 15 ans qu’OFI soutient des projets en faveur de l’autonomisation et de l’indépendance économique des femmes en zones rurales dans le Tamil Nadu. Benjamine Oberoi, vice-présidente d’OFI et notre partenaire local SEVAI, ont encouragé la création de plus de 11 000 Self-Help Groups (groupes d’entraide). 150 000 foyers ont pu ainsi dépasser le seuil de pauvreté.

 

Pour cela, toute l’équipe OFI est honorée et fière d’avoir reçu ce prix de la part de la fondation Raja Danièle-Marcovici. Cette récompense nous motive à continuer nos projets et à élargir notre champ d’action.

 

Ce prix, c’est aussi le vôtre. Sans vous, ces projets n’auraient jamais vu le jour. Merci pour votre soutien. De petits pas peuvent faire toute la différence et c’est formidable de pouvoir faire les bons pas ensemble !

 

Découvrez la vidéo présentant les finalistes de la catégorie « Education et Action Sociale » du Raja Women Award 2018