"VOLUNTEER WORDS"

enseignement.jpg

Emile, English teacher in Civic Service for nursery classes at Shanti School from September 2017 to August 2018

My name is Emile, I went on civic service as an English teacher at SEVAI Shanti School. I arrived in September 2017, having recently obtained an English as a Foreign Language (TEFL) teacher training, I was looking for a work experience in the teaching and the mission offered by Objectif France-Inde (OFI). seemed perfect to me. I also really wanted to discover India, which I knew to be a fascinating country. The school is in a very remote and very rural location in Tamil Nadu, a hot and dry state in southern India. But that didn't scare me… anyway, that's what I said in the interview, of course.

The truth is that spending a year completely immersed in a foreign culture is a bit scary, especially in this case where the immersion is total.

Finally, the remote aspect affected me little; in India, it is very difficult to feel cut off from the world, in the sense that there are people everywhere. I live and work in a school with 2,000 students, in a 'village' of ten thousand people near a city of a million.

I also had the chance to be easily integrated fully into the local community, as well as within the school. Tamils are very sociable and came easily to talk to me, invite me to eat at their place or to visit the surroundings. They also have a great sense of humor, love to laugh, tell stories, and even make fun, always kindly. It made me feel very comfortable and created a sense of belonging to this community which I think will follow me long after I am gone.

The mission assigned to me by OFI was to give engaging and fun English lessons to kindergarten children, as well as to promote an education promoting more understanding and less memorization. So I arrived at Shanti School full of ideas: visions of crafts and plastic arts, decorating the school with the classes, gardening, reading stories with attentive children sitting around me, all with dramatic improvement. their level of English. Reality hit me hard when I got to school. Kindergarten students are in classes of forty, and the lessons seemed to consist mainly of oral repetition and written copying to memorize and learn to write, all kept in order by very strict discipline. The courses I used to prepare were unsuitable for these conditions, and many of my ideas could be put aside.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Since June, I have resumed lessons on the same model as last year, with the new students of UKG, who are just 4 years old and are progressing very quickly. I dread when I will have to say goodbye to them in 30 days, and to all the friends that I have become very close to during this year. Of course, I will also be happy to find my family and friends in France. I especially feel a lot of gratitude towards OFI for allowing me to live this experience, and for their support throughout the mission; and to SEVAI who welcomed me so well.

ETUDIANTS TELECOM PARIS TECH

_edited.png

Here is the blog of the team of volunteers present in India during the summer of 2015. Click here to follow their stay at the “House of Hope” in Bangalore.

"PAROLES DE BENEVOLES"

enseignement.jpg

Emile, professeur d’anglais en Service Civique pour les classes maternelles de Shanti School en septembre 2017 à août 2018

Je m’appelle Emile, je suis parti en service civique en tant que professeur d’anglais à SEVAI Shanti School. Je suis arrivé en septembre 2017, ayant récemment obtenu une formation de professeur d’anglais langue étrangère (TEFL), j’étais en recherche d’une expérience de travail dans l’enseignement et la mission que proposait Objectif France-Inde (OFI) m’a parue parfaite. J’avais aussi très envie de découvrir l’Inde que je savais être un pays fascinant. L’école est dans un endroit très reculé et très rural du Tamil Nadu, un état chaud et sec du sud de l’Inde. Mais cela ne me faisait pas peur… en tout cas, c’est ce que j’ai dit à l’interview, bien sûr. 

La vérité c’est que passer une année, complètement immergé dans une culture étrangère, c’est un peu effrayant, surtout dans ce cas où l’immersion est totale.

Finalement, l’aspect reculé m’a peu affecté ; en Inde, il est très difficile de se sentir coupé du monde, dans le sens où il y a du monde partout. Je vis et travaille dans une école accueillant 2 000 élèves, dans un ‘village’ de dix mille habitants près d’une ville d’un million.

J’ai aussi eu la chance d’être aisément intégré à part entière dans la communauté locale, ainsi qu’au sein de l’école. Les tamouls sont très sociables et venaient facilement me parler, m’inviter à manger chez eux ou à visiter les alentours. Ils ont aussi un très bon sens de l’humour, aiment rire, raconter des histoires, et même se moquer, avec bienveillance toujours. Cela m’a permis de me sentir très à l’aise et de créer un sentiment d’appartenance à cette communauté qui, je pense, me suivra longtemps après que je sois parti.

La mission qui m’était assigné par OFI était de donner des cours d’anglais engageants et ludiques aux enfants de maternelle, ainsi que de promouvoir une éducation prônant plus de compréhension et moins de mémorisation. Je suis donc arrivé à Shanti School plein d’idées : visions de travaux manuels et arts plastiques, décoration de l’école avec les classes, jardinage, lecture d’histoires avec des enfants attentifs assis autour de moi, le tout avec une amélioration spectaculaire de leur niveau d’anglais. La réalité m’a durement frappé en arrivant à l’école. Les élèves de maternelle sont dans des classes de quarante, et les cours avaient l’air de consister principalement de répétition orale et recopiage écrit pour mémoriser et apprendre à écrire, le tout maintenu à l’ordre par une discipline très stricte. Les cours que j’avais l’habitude de préparer étaient inadaptés à ces conditions, et beaucoup de mes idées pouvaient être mises de côté.

Depuis juin, j’ai repris les cours sur le même modèle que l’année dernière, avec les nouveaux élèves de UKG, qui ont tout juste 4 ans et progressent très vite. J’appréhende le moment où je devrai leur dire au revoir, dans 30 jours, ainsi qu’à tous les amis dont je me suis beaucoup rapproché pendant cette année. Bien-sûr, je serai aussi content de retrouver ma famille et mes amis en France. Je ressens surtout beaucoup de gratitude envers OFI pour m’avoir permis de vivre cette expérience, et pour leur accompagnement tout au long de la mission; et envers SEVAI qui m’ont si bien accueillis.

ETUDIANTS TELECOM PARIS TECH

_edited.png

Voici le blog de l’équipe de bénévoles présents en Inde lors de l’été 2015. Cliquez ici pour suivre leur séjour à la  « House of Hope » de Bangalore.